粘度和醇解度

粘度

可乐丽PVOH粘度的不同,影响着粘结强度、成膜性能、耐水性以及分散剂性。

高粘度等产品拥有优良的成膜,高强度的胶粘剂、更优秀的乳液稳定和分散特性,在高固含量涂层中拥有更高的耐水性和剪切粘度。这类特性使其成为胶粘剂应用、水溶性薄膜和胶粘剂的绝佳之选。

醇解度:聚乙烯醇的关键组成

Kuraray提供多种规格的PVOH产品,包含部分醇解、中等醇解、完全醇解和超醇解这四大PVOH系列。与较低醇解性PVOH相比,完全醇解或超醇解类PVOH的抗水性得以改善。完全醇解和超醇解PVOH溶液不会起泡沫,这一点与部分醇解PVOH溶液不同。
醇解度极为重要,因其会依据客户需求的特性,对水溶性或耐水性级别、溶解温度以及溶液表面张力造成影响。

基于醇解度的用途

超醇解度:

抗水性薄膜、特种纸应用以及胶粘剂

完全醇解度:

织品整理、纸与纸板、胶粘剂、压敏胶带和陶瓷粘结剂

中等醇解度:

短纤纱经纱上浆、织品整理、PVA乳液用乳化剂和陶瓷粘结剂

部分醇解度:

短纤和长丝的经纱上浆、压敏再湿性胶粘剂、土壤加固、薄膜以及EVA和PVA乳液用乳化剂

KURARAY POVAL™ L系列:低醇解度PVOH

KURARAY POVAL™ L系列具有低醇解度。但是,其可完全溶解于水。处于70-80摩尔%醇解时,4%水溶液中的粘性范围为5mPas至8mPas。在PVC悬浮聚合中,这类产品是非常有效的保护胶体。可乐丽还可提供完全水溶性的LM系列产品。

Viscosity and Hydrolysis

Viscosity

Kuraray’s PVOH grades vary in viscosity, affecting adhesion strength, film forming properties, water sensitivity, and activity as a dispersing agent.

High viscosity grades have increased film and adhesive strength, better emulsion stabilizing and dispersant characteristics, less water sensitivity and higher shear viscosity in high solids coatings. These characteristics make them excellent for adhesive applications, water soluble films, and adhesives.

Hydrolysis: A Key Component for Polyvinyl Alcohol

Kuraray offers a wide range of PVOH grades that fit into four major ranges of PVOH: Partially hydrolyzed, middle hydrolyzed, fully hydrolyzed, and super hydrolyzed. PVOH that is fully or super hydrolyzed has improved water resistance compared to lower hydrolysis PVOH.  Unlike solutions of partially hydrolyzed PVOH, solutions of fully and super hydrolyzed PVOH do not foam.

The degree of hydrolysis is very important as it affects the level of water solubility or resistance, dissolving temperature, and surface tension of a solution depending on the characteristics that a customer needs.

Applications Based on Hydrolysis

Super Hydrolyzed:

water-resistant films, specialty paper applications, and adhesives

Fully Hydrolyzed:

textile finishing, paper and paperboard, adhesives, pressure-sensitive tapes, and ceramic binders

Middle Hydrolyzed:

warp-sizing for spun yarn, textile finishing, emulsifier for PVAc Emulsion and ceramic binders

Partially Hydrolyzed:

warp-sizing for spun and filament yarn, pressure sensitive, remoistening adhesive, soil stabilization, films, and emulsifier for EVA and PVAc Emulsions

KURARAY POVAL™ L Series: A Low Degree of Hydrolysis PVOH

KURARAY POVAL™ L series have a low degree of hydrolysis. However, they are completely water-soluble. At 70–80 mol% hydrolysis, viscosity in a 4% aqueous solution ranges from 5 mPas to 8 mPas. These products are very effective as protective colloids in the PVC suspension process. Kuraray also offers LM series that are completely water soluble.